Sharing items in Password Boss

It’s easy to share any item in Password Boss with anyone else.  You can securely share one item, several items, or an entire folder of items.

If the recipient does not have a Password Boss account we will help them make an account.

Notes on sharing

  • Shared items are encrypted, which means that only you and the recipient have access to the data being shared.
  • You retain ownership of items you share. this means that the recipient cannot re-shares the item with someone else.
  • You can cancel a share at any time. Cancelling a share will automatically remove any shared items from the recipients account the next time their account synchronizes. 
  • Items are shared until you cancel them, you can also add an expiration date if you like.
  • Shares can contain individual items or folders, but not both at the same time.
  • Once you share something you can edit the share to add, change or remove items from the share.
  • When you make changes to items that are shared, the changes are sent to the recipients of the shared items.
  • Items that have been shared with you will appear in the share center and in the corresponding section along with your personal items.

How to share items

Note:

Shared items normally appear in the recipients account a few minutes after creating the Share.

  • Desktop
  • iOS
  • Android
  1. Open Password Boss.
  2. From the left menu choose Share Center.
  3. Click on the orange circle add_item.png to create a new Share.
  4. The New Shared Item window will open.
  5. Select Individual Items or Entire Folder.
  6. Check the box next to each item or folder you want to share.
    new_share_desktop.png
  7. Click Next.
  8. Enter a Name for the Share, add recipients, pick a duration and click Share item.new_share_detail_desktop.png
  9. The recipient can then open the Share Center and on the Shared with me tab they can Accept or Decline the Share.
  1. Open Password Boss.
  2. From the bottom menu tap More ios_more_button.png 
  3. Tap Share Center.
  4. Tap the green and white circle  add_item_green.png  
  5. Tap Individual Items or Entire Folder.
  6. Tap the items you want to share.
    share_select_items_ios.png
  7. Tap Next.
  8. Enter a Name for the Share, add recipients, pick a duration and tap Share item.
    share_details_ios.png
  9. The recipient can then open the Share Center and on the Shared with me tab they can Accept or Decline the Share.
  1. Open Password Boss.
  2. From the top left tap the menu icon android_menu_icon.png
  3. Tap Share Center.
  4. Tap on the orange circle add_item.png 
  5. Tap Individual Items or Entire Folder.
  6. Tap the items you want to share.
    share_select_items_android.png
  7. Tap Next.
  8. Enter a Name for the Share, add recipients, pick a duration and tap Share item.
    share_details_android.png
  9. The recipient can then open the Share Center and on the Shared with me tab they can Accept or Decline the Share.

Making changes to shared items

As you make changes to items that you have shared, either individual items or complete folders of items, those changes will automatically be synchronized to all of the recipients.

Updating recipients happens during the normal synchronization process of your Password Boss account. Synchronization happens every 5 minutes from each device. 

When you make changes to a shared item it can take up to 10 minutes for the changes to be received by the recipients - up to 5 minutes for the changes to leave your device and up to 5 minutes for the recipient to download the changes.

Sending changes faster:

The Share originator can use the Backup Now function to immediately synchronize any Share changes. The recipient can then use Backup Now to immediately receive the changes.

Was this article helpful?