Manage groups of users

Why you should use groups

Groups are designed to make it easy to manage recipients of shared items. The benefits of using groups includes:

  • Shares that are sent to groups are automatically updated as the group membership is changed. If shares are sent to individuals each share must be manually edited as the recipient list changes.
  • It is quicker to choose groups as recipient than it is to manually add each recipient individually.
  • If you need to review a share and who has permissions to a share you do not need to scroll through long lists of recipients.

The Everyone group

All teams have an Everyone group that is automatically created for your team. The Everyone group contains all team members from your account.  The membership of the Everyone group is maintained automatically by Password Boss.

Info

The Everyone group includes everyone in your account. Only use the Everyone group as a recipient to a share when all team members need access to the shared items.  If only some team members need access to the shared items create a new group with limited membership.

Use meaningful names for groups

  • Use names for your groups that describe the group so that other team members will be able to identify the group. Group name that identify the group, project or department make it easy for other team members what the group is for.  Examples: Marketing, Finance, Project alpha.
  • Consider adding the permissions to the name of the group. 
  • Depending on your team structure it may be useful to create groups that will be used to assign read-only permission and other groups that will have editor permissions. Examples: Marketing-Read Only, Marketing-Editor

Avoid duplicating groups

Keep your list of groups concise and avoid making groups that duplicate the membership in an existing group.

How to create groups

  1. Login to the Password Boss portal as an admin for your team.
  2. Click Users & Groups from the left menu.
  3. Scroll down to the Groups section.
  4. Click +Create new group.
  5. Enter a group name and click save.

How to add or remove users from a group

  1. Login to the Password Boss portal as an admin for your team.
  2. Click Users & Groups from the left menu.
  3. Scroll down to the Groups section.
  4. Find the group you want to change.
  5. From the blue Actions button  choose Edit.
  6. Add or remove users from the group. You can also edit the name of the group from this screen.
  7. Click Save when you are done.

How to delete groups

  1. Login to the Password Boss portal as an admin for your team.
  2. Click Users & Groups from the left menu.
  3. Scroll down to the Groups section.
  4. Find the group you want to change.
  5. From the blue Actions button  choose Delete.
  6. On the confirmation screen click Delete group.

 

Was this article helpful?