Choose location for online backups
When online backups are enabled user data is stored in one of many data centers around the world. By default users data is generally located in a location that is closest to the users location when each user creates their account.
For example users in the US will have their data stored in a US data center, and users in the EU will have their data stored in an EU data center.
Available data centers;
- US – East coast
- US – West coast
- Ireland (EU)
- Frankfurt (EU)
- Sao Paulo
- The default value is OFF
- When this policy is ON a data center must be chosen from the available options. Once a data center is chosen all user data is moved immediately to the designated data center and client applications are updated after their next sync.
- When this policy is OFF users are able to specify any data center they choose.
Turning this policy OFF puts the user back in control of where their data is stored. Data is not automatically moved to a different data center by turning this policy off.
For teams that are distributed in different geographic regions, specifying a data center in a specific location, rather than allowing Password Boss to pick the closest data center for each user, may better match internal security and privacy concerns.
This policy is available to all accounts with an Advanced or Trial subscription.